Connect with us

Pokhara University

Established:1997 A.D.
Vice-Chancellor:Dr. Keshar Jung Baral
Education Body Type:National(Universities)
Language of Education:English


Pokhara University was established in 1997 as the fifth University in  the Country under the government's policy of adopting a multi-University system in the country with aims to expand the access to higher education. The Prime Minister is the Chancellor of the University and the Pro-Chancellor is the Minister of Education. The Vice Chancellor is the Principal Administrator of the University. The central office of the university is located in Lekhnath Municipality, Kaski district, Western Development Region of Nepal.

Pokhara University, non-profit autonomous institution, is partially financed by the Government of Nepal.


Objective of Pokhara University

  • To produce skilled and qualitative human resource in the areas of science, technology, management, law, humanities, education and other professional areas for national development
  • To encourage private sector participation in the development of higher education
  • To create healthy, respectful and result oriented and disciplined academic environment by improving quality in higher education
  • To promote the quality and standard of higher education through the healthy competition in higher education
  • To contribute to the community development by operating extension programs

The mission of Pokhara University is to develop as a Center of Excellence for Higher Education by excelling in teaching, learning and research activities; contributing to the national development process by producing market - oriented, responsible, productive, service oriented and committed human resources and link the university system with the community service.